For Whom the Dove Mourns

From waking breath I hurry, gathering my flock

We yell and run about, scattering across the house

And as we run toward the car, calling out “Watch Out”

I hear her cry somewhere above, and stop

For whom does she mourn? Her somber cry

Who has she lost, her beloved child?

Why does she perch above my head, and tilt her head aside?

She calls again, and my heart pierces through, 

as she sings her mourning song.

For me? I whisper quietly, daring not to move…

She shivers and then takes flight,

Leaving me alone.

Leave a Reply

