The Dreamer

The Silence is deafening, golden to me.
I sit in the quiet alone, but not quite.
His steady breath lets me know of his dreams.
I listen for children.
I listen for sound.
But the only true noise echoes in my ears.
The voices that bounce from my heart to my head
ring louder and louder
with each passing moment in the quiet.
I’m screaming at each of them
“Quiet, be still”
I clinch my eyes shut to force out the light
praying it starves them of words.
Yet they yammer on
and on
Until I at last surrender to the torrent of noise
together in one harmonious hum
And over the den of pandemonious words
comes a quiet whisper
And just as my eyes, heavy from sleep, close
I’m ushered into the holiest place
of dreams.

Leave a Reply

