Jumping Ship

I am exhausted by labels. I am exhausted by categories, by worldviews and clashing worldviews. I am exhausted by the need for debate for endless arguments for intolerance of tolerance. I want so much for my beliefs, for my walk with Christ to be nothing more than my walk with Christ. I try to peel off the layers of dirt, mire of pride of ambition, the scabs and dressings of culture and politics in search of truth but I so often find myself lost amidst the gauze, plaster and mud. Where is a faith that is simple? Where is a love that is unhindered by politics, rules of decorum and a constant fear for our own personal safety and liberty? Where is a truth that is not seen through the lens of culture, not blurred by lines of indifference and by the institutions that we hold dear? Where is the church that is living in faith, loving in and out of their faith and seeking unobstructed truth?

There’s tarnish on the golden rule
And I wanna jump from this ship of fools
Show me a place where hope is young
And a people who aren’t afraid to love
This world has nothing for me and this world has everything
All that I could want and nothing that I need
This world is making me drunk on the spirits of fear.
So when he says who will go, I am nowhere near.
And the least of these look like criminals to me
So I leave Christ on the street
This world has held my hand and has led me into intolerance
But now I’m waking up, but now I’m breaking up
But now I’m making up for lost time

Caedmon’s Call

One response to “Jumping Ship

Leave a Reply

