Reconciliation

This past week was an amazing whirl of excitement and joy around our house.  Late Tuesday night, we sat with my parents as history was made, and Barack Obama was named the 44th president of our great nation.  Words cannot describe the power of that moment, the power of sitting with two people who lived through the civil rights movement, with my mother who was called names for her father’s support of the civil rights act.  I realized that moment how cynical I had become in the light of my sudden surprise that it actually happened… we have elected an african-american president.  I realized how much I love this idea of democracy, that we get a voice.  I look forward to see what president-elect Obama will accomplish, and how this will bring people together.

Leave a Reply

