To Dance with Abandon

Last night, we were practicing the music for next weeks service, and a new song was introduced.  I hadn’t heard this song, but immediately loved the lyrics and of course, the music.  As we sang the song, all of the anger of the days frustrations began to melt away, the insecurities I held inside quieted, and  I watched as my beautiful friend Chase danced in the light of God’s glory.

I’ve known Chase now for 12 years, and with every passing day, he teaches me more and more.  Chase has Downs Syndrome, but don’t let that fool you.  He is one of the brightest, most compassionate people I know.  He loves to laugh, and is endlessly teasing me, fooling around with others, and always exuding Christ’s love in ways I only wish I knew how to.  Above everything else, Chase loves to worship.  When most of us talk about worship, we think of singing songs, perhaps clapping, maybe raising our hands, and trying for a moment to quiet the distractions surrounding us to worship our Creator.  For Chase, it comes naturally.  He holds nothing back, afraid of no ones judgment, and simply glorifies his maker.

As we sang this song last night, and the energy of the song picked up, Chase stood up from his usual perch on the steps of the stage, and danced around the room with complete abandon.  And suddenly, the room was filled with all that is Holy, and God breathed into that place. There was an electrifying energy that I can only explain as the Spirit of God, and suddenly I was compelled to dance with utter abandon.  For a brief moment, I almost let go and joined Chase in his dance, and then… and then… my flesh grabbed my spirit and began to choke the life out of my joy.  Questions arose… What if others see me?  What if they laugh?  Is it even appropriate?  What if I’m wrong and this presence I feel isn’t God’s Spirit?  And I watched, frozen in place, as Chase spun around, unaffected by the questions that were binding my soul, and my heart wept.

God has always had a way of choosing the least of these to teach us.  By worldly standards, Chase does not afford much wisdom.  But as I stood witness to the beauty of his abandonment, I realized that the words of Christ ring true today…

For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. For it is written:
“I will destroy the wisdom of the wise;
the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate.”

Brothers, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him.”  1 Corinthians 1:18-19, 26-29

I’ve included the lyrics to the song we sang below, perhaps later I can post on the beauty of the song itself, but for now, enjoy the lyrics and the link to see Chris Tomlin playing this song, so that you might hear, you might taste, you might see the glory of God, and that you might join me in ridding ourselves of the fleshly chains that bind our spirits, and dance with abandon in light of who God is.

Sing, Sing, Sing by Chris Tomlin

We will sing, sing, sing
And make music with the heavens
We will sing, sing, sing
Grateful that You hear us
When we shout your praise
Lift high the name of Jesus

What’s not to love about You?
Heaven and earth adore You
Kings and kingdoms bow down
Son of God, You are the One
You are the One we’re living for

You are the love that frees us
You are the light that leads us
Like a fire burning
Son of God, You are the One
You are the one we’re living for

We will sing, sing, sing
And make music with the heavens
We will sing, sing, sing
Grateful that You hear us
When we shout your praise
Lift high the name of Jesus

Leave a Reply

