5:38 AM

I had a revelation this morning on I-40 driving toward work. Yesterday I went to church and had lunch with friends and we whined in community about some church politics. Lifeway had pulled a magazine that had female pastors on the front cover. We were all very sure that a great injustice had been done.We sat there and reveled in the injustice and how WE were above such lunacy. I left feeling a bit self-righteous and satisfied that our little group of rebels was in agreement.
This morning at 5:38 AM for no apparent reason it occurred to me that I need to confess this sin.  I haven’t changed my mind of how I felt about the SBC or women in ministry. But I suddenly realized how petty and ridiculous I was yesterday and most days. The world is filled with injustice… babies die of hunger, little girls can’t go to school, disabled people, women, and racial minorities are denied employment, the poor get poorer while the rich get richer, children die in wars they didn’t start and on and on and on.  I was almost in tears.  While I am so quick to point fingers and whine about the apparent injustice in my little bubble of a world, how rarely do I look beyond to greater injustice, greater oppression, greater pain??  Which sort of injustice comes to mind more easily? Which one do we talk about in church?
I think the key to getting beyond all the denominational insanity is to realize how small and insignificant it really is in scheme of the world, in scheme of the Kingdom.
“Give fair judgment to the poor and the orphan;
uphold the rights of the oppressed and the destitute
Rescue the poor and helpless;
deliver them from the grasp of evil people.
But these oppressors know nothing; they are so ignorant!”
Psalms 82: 3-5
One response to “5:38 AM

  1. Who wrote this one? Was it Forrest? I know that you don’t go to work on I-40 so I was wondering. I also spent a great deal of time whining about it too. I just don’t understand. I look at the way the world would view that and it does make me angry. I guess in the grand scheme of things it really is a small thing and that I need to try to make the world a better place rather than complaining about it.

Leave a Reply

